RSS

In their own way…..

24 Nov

She is not one to send unending text messages, neither random daily nor weekly calls. I do most of the calling or Skype calls but there those moments her number flashes across my screen and my whatever time of the day or time of the year, is filled with glee. I know though, that she wakes up with us *her babies* in her thoughts, we make appearances throughout her day when she passes by places we’ve been together, spots a mother and her child while going about her daily routines *her words* or when her heart cripples with yearning for us; and when she retires for the night, she whispers a silent word for us. I know this because, there are days when things work out perfectly for me and deep down i know it is because she stood in the gap.

He is not one to smoother me with hugs *he is old school African* took him a while to get accustomed to the hugs we thrust at him. But his eyes beam with pride each time he talks about us – that is, all the time. He will from time to time invade my inbox with emails, motivational and investment packed advise mails. I am grateful for solid directions which have helped me in hiding my few coins. As we increasingly make life changing decisions, i notice that he sheds his skin. He loses the disciplinarian one and acquires a what’s up, fill me in type of vibe. He would walk many miles for us, even though we are all grown and doing most of the walking ourselves. I know this because, when i am drowning in life’s many waters; oblivious to him, He often turns out to be that branch i cling onto for survival.

I have for so long had a burning desire to write them a biography, as they would want it be. A labor of love project. I want them to tell their story now, when they still can, on their own terms. I am however such a novice wimp, i am terrified of making a snore out of their amazing lives, i don’t even know where to start. Yer, I know, Google it up….blah blah blah. I feel that i want to set out and do it their way and *somehow mine too* I want to make their biography a story, to engage any reader and make him/her care about what they are all about. I hope i can be engaging enough, bring their lives alive. I wish i can make any reader feel like they have known them their whole lives, like i have them. That is my mission.

Pretty soon, am embarking on that research journey. A journey to walk my parents walk, a journey i believe will be my journey of a lifetime. Proof reading volunteers are heartily welcomed – when i get to that phase of course.

H-O-P-E

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 24, 2013 in My musings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “In their own way…..

  1. aixmasters

    November 25, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Aww, yes please, write about them. I imagine it would be such a fun project. And please, for the love of God, let it not be a snore fest. I’m going to be your self-appointed editor/proofreader, and I won’t hesitate to type “yawn” if I come across a boring paragraph while editing :p

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Bikozulu

Everything Is a Story

This Horrible Blog

Full of little horribilities from a horrible person

Satisfaction in Christ Alone

Jesus Christ is The Only Way, truth and life. Apart from Him we are nothing!

Believe

Do not be sad, do not lower your gaze, what you don't realize is that you are truly amazing.

My 36th Floor

Maybe I am the last human

Let's Reach Success

Habits, purpose and a little bit of zen.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

