RSS

Moved by music – Weekly Challenge

05 Nov

All deep things are song.  It seems somehow the very central essence of us, song; as if all the rest were but wrappages and hulls!  ~Thomas Carlyle

Music for me must have began while i was still in mama’s insides, i remember vividly growing up in a house where mornings were synonymous to the beautiful voices of local gospel music * mums’* bless you tube, i can still re-live these amazing moments. Skeeter Davis or Jim Reeves *dads’*  This was most probably my very first encounter with western music, excluding the nursery rhymes we learnt in kindergarten. Dad’s music extended to the car, those were cassette days. The best memory was the family choirs we had during our long road trips from the city to the countryside while visiting relatives. I later came to learn that my dad liked it all the more because it helped keep him awake (His job involved lots of night shifts).

Then there was my grandfathers vinyl records, oh how he valued them, i don’t remember ever touching his record player (suicide mission) but it’s the look on his face whenever his records played that remains deeply etched in me to date. He was king at that moment. Even as a child i understood the simple fact that music was uplifting. Most of the lyrics were too heavy too comprehend but the melodies enchanted my young innocent spirit.

In those days, people put lots of effort at mastering lyrics off head and took much pleasure in singing along, A lot of my formative music was gospel and the best place to practice and sharpen my skills was at the local church (obviously). I find that to a certain extend this influence continued to shape me up until puberty *self discovery* Enter personalized song book – a thick journal of handwritten lyrics to all songs i loved.

I had various categories but reggae took up most of the pages. In reggae, i lost myself, to a world of unlimited imagination, i travelled the world and transversed continents while in the comfort of my house. The guitar chords aroused me in indescribable ways and i could relate to the messages of love, struggle, revolution, spirituality in the lyrics. The song that did it for me and continues to is ‘Rivers of Babylon‘ by The Melodians.

The lyrics are lasting, soundtrack memorable . Am taken back in time by the melancholia and nostalgia. This indelible music moves me.

Indulge……..Rivers of Babylon

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Moved by music – Weekly Challenge

  1. Pete

    November 5, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Well, for your first time in taking part, it is wonderful, your love of music is my love of music, I grew up in the 60’s and 70’s and my influences comes from my auntie Betty who sorry to say past away New Years eve then my step father came on the scene and he brings with him Johnny Cash and country music and that was me hookec and to this day, country music is my first love. I also love southern gospel music, being brought up in the Penticostal church and lively hand clapping and cheerful singing was the norm. I was interested in what you wrote about when you were in the womb, I was at a conference 3 years ago and it was about unborn and new born babies and how while in the womb they can be educated, read to and when born can recognise the stories and the voices that read the books, so your mama did the right tjing and gave you the love of music.

     
    • wambuikaranja

      November 6, 2013 at 7:28 am

      Thank you Pete for that back pat. Am encouraged. May your lovely Aunt Betty’s soul RIP. It’s quite interesting to know there exists this type of study. Hope i can one day take part in such a conference. I do believe that unborn babies are interactive and when born can react and recognize the stimuli they interacted with while in the womb.This is especially important for soon to be dads. Isn’t amazing to have a new born react to daddy’s voice – musical voice?

       
      • Pete

        November 6, 2013 at 10:27 am

        Your welcome, music has the power to heal, power to make people smile and change a persons life. Have you noticed how babies will move to music, no one teaches children to move to music, its an instinct, I believe that before humans developed speech they danced to convey information just like the honey be, it will do a dance to inform the rest of the bees where the best pollen is, birds will move to attract a mate, whales will sing to communicate can call to other whales. the world is full of natures music and unstoppable dance 🙂 take care God bless

         
  2. Dan Karanja

    November 6, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Great work you’ve made me rember the long trips when Dad would drive all the way in a tune and mum would shift in her swt soprano and all wpuld join in OOh how great the songs were

    Music is just the soul and comfort to our souls

     
    • wambuikaranja

      November 6, 2013 at 11:31 am

      The music sowed in us continues to move us. I miss those days too, i am creating my own step by step.

       
  3. Dan Karanja

    November 6, 2013 at 11:53 am

    ati wat

     
  4. wambuikaranja

    November 6, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I mean am creating my own musical moments and memories.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Bikozulu

Everything Is a Story

This Horrible Blog

Full of little horribilities from a horrible person

Satisfaction in Christ Alone

Jesus Christ is The Only Way, truth and life. Apart from Him we are nothing!

Believe

Do not be sad, do not lower your gaze, what you don't realize is that you are truly amazing.

My 36th Floor

Maybe I am the last human

Let's Reach Success

Habits, purpose and a little bit of zen.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

